days out · Kent

Autumn 2016

Bonfire night signals the end of Autumn and the move into the Winter months (and the countdown to Christmas, eeek!!) so I thought I’d do a quick blog post of all my favourite pictures from this Autumn. We were lucky to spend Autumn half term in the Cotswolds so I’ve shared some lots of photos on that post if you want to have a read. Autumn was incredibly mild this year and we enjoyed lots of time outside. I’m snuggled under a blanket as I type, I miss the beautiful Autumn weather!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lots of walks finding conkers and blackberry bushes, these fields are a short walk from our house. We live on the edge of town but are lucky to have these close by, that is something I miss about living back at home with my parents. They live in a beautiful village surrounded by fields and I definitely took that for granted before moving to the town.

The roses in my garden all died back and I’ve managed to kill most things in my garden but these dahlias looked amazing at the start of Autumn and are still blooming away now, I’m sure the first lot of frost we have will kill them off though!

I bought a new Jo Malone perfume for the change in season, Blackberry Bay, I had been wearing Pear and Freesia so this made a lovely change. I’ve bought a Jo Malone perfume for my wedding too, I can’t wait to wear it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also enjoyed filling my house up with pumpkins everywhere much to Bens dismay, I love them though! I found this gorgeous Autumn print from FreddieTheKid that fitted straight in with my little Autumn display.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pumpkin picking and carving is fast becoming a little tradition of ours too, Bens pumpkin carving skills far outdo mine and I really look forward to Halloween so we can carve away. This year I went pumpkin picking with Bens sisters and brother, it was so funny watching Bens younger brother pick up and put every pumpkin he could lift in the wheelbarrow, he wanted them all! Freya then struggled to move the wheelbarrow and it fell over and all of the pumpkins came rolling out!!

It’s so lovely being on half term and having more time to spend with Bens family.

This year we carved our pumpkins at Bens mums, Ben and his brother had a bit of a competition that my mum ended up judging via facetime. Such good fun and she hilariously thought Bens Joker pumpkin was Freddie Kruger! He still won though…

I used the drill on my one and loved the lantern look to it, I also made a cat one but that got stolen off of our doorstep! Outrageous!

We’ve loved having roasts again and making crumbles (Ben has only just discovered he likes crumbles and we’ve now had loads this Autumn, not good when your supposed to be on slimming world…). We went to The Duke William at Ickham, Kent last week and the roast was the best I have ever had!! Such a cosy, gorgeous pub too.

14591710_10153802659702735_4741819061805057500_n

14581482_10153802708542735_2551042895037071735_n

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love all the colours Autumn brings and my camera is full up of all the autumn shades

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

14991849_10153821269417735_6543902891931679809_n

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also love the golden hour glow of Autumn too, the low sun makes for gorgeous photos

cotswolds-golden-sunlight
Photo from the Cotswolds ❤
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Testing my camera out on Bens sisters as they practiced their jumping

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our last Autumn tradition is to watch the fireworks and this year we went to Quex Park. Kent with Bens family. There’s always a huge bonfire, lots of food stalls and a craft tent selling jewellery, yummy fudge, Christmas crafts etc. The fireworks are always amazing and they really put on a great show!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I cannot wait for all the fun of Christmas now, it’s definitely my favourite time of the year! We have decided to not buy presents this year though and asked our families to not buy for us either. Planning and saving for our wedding is taking all our spare money and Christmas on top may topple Ben over the edge!! I can’t wait for all the celebrations with our family and friends though, it’s the presence of those you love at Christmas that matters and not the presents after all.

Leave a Reply

